If not now… when?

Because we were born to realize our dreams…

From the Mouths of babes….Julien Smith Gives children a Voice April 13, 2007

Filed under: children,inspiration,juliensmith,kids,life,parenting,podcasting — kveljones @ 8:34 pm

scream

Its all about the children really….probably a not so veiled attempt to resolve some of my own childhood pains… never the less…

This past weekend (see previous entry) I had the great joy to meet Julien Smith… whose podcast Listen to your Kids “connects kids that want to share with parents that want to listen.”

Julien hosts a phone line… kids call in and anonymously record their thoughts, and then Julien posts them to an rss feed so that parents can listen to the things their children are afraid to (and yet desperate to) tell them…

The kids cover all sorts of issues, but one moved me especially…

If I could tell my parents anything, I think I would tell them to lighten up, you know… you might have the greatest kid in the world and not trust them at all, and then, so, you squeeze em and squeeze em and squeeze em and don’t let em do anything even though he’s probably the best kid you know and while other kids whose parents trust them completely are going out and doing whatever…

I don’t think this child is really asking his parents to “lighten up” I think he is screaming..

SEE ME… SEE ME… NOT ME AS A REFLECTION OF YOU, NOT ME THROUGH THE LENS Of YOUR FEARS, OR HOPES OR FAILURES. I AM STANDING BEFORE YOU AND ASKING YOU TO LOVE ME FOR ME, UNCONDITIONALLY, AND FOREVER.. THE WAY I DESERVE TO BE LOVED.

SEE ME FOR THE WONDERFUL PERSON I AM, IF YOU, MY PARENT CAN’T SEE THAT IN ME, HOW CAN I SEE IT IN MYSELF?

Julien has given this child a voice. What an amazing amazing thing. Thank you Julien!

 

One Response to “From the Mouths of babes….Julien Smith Gives children a Voice”

  1. […] virginia, life — kveljones @ 6:17 am The horrors of the past two days bring me back to 2 posts previous… Julien Smith’s Listen to your […]


Leave a Reply

