If not now… when?

Because we were born to realize our dreams…

Are artists afraid of Success?- or why I have no artist of the week April 24, 2007

Two episodes ago I began a new segment on Question of the Week ….wanting to celebrate the vision and courage of other artists who are committed to make a living doing what they love most I have begun featuring the work of an etsy artist every week and asking the artist to participate by answering the weekly question…

In the case of an artist who makes wearable art (jewlery,clothing).. I buy the item and wear it on my show (I neither ask for or want anything for free… my goal is to support artists and that means finacially too) … and I know I have increased traffic to these artists web sites cuz I can track clicks from my sites

So.. I am offering FREE publicity on a show the artists can be proud of.. guaranteeing that at least thousands of people will be exposed to their work, as well as “artist of the week” status on both ifnotnow.net and this blog…..

These artists have nothing to lose and everything to gain…

and yet… we have no “artist of the week” in last weeks show.. why? I contacted TWO, count them TWO different etsy artists (a jewlery designer whose work I have bought and wore in last weeks episode and also a photographer) and neither even bothered to return any of my emails.

Why do you think these artist turned down the opportunity for greater exposure?

My theory… our greatest fear is our own success

What’s yours?

 

3 Responses to “Are artists afraid of Success?- or why I have no artist of the week”

  1. ldpodcast Says:

    I wrote about this yesterday- http://ldpodcast.wordpress.com/

    A lot is about how we define success, and whether success is a journey or a destination. I think it’s a journey, and if you treat it that way, you aren’t looking to “find it” like a lost shoe, but looking at it as a gradual progression over time.

    I also think there’s a lot of suspicion out there of people wanting to promote us just because they like us…We’re uncomfortable when things are out of our own hands. Look how crazy politicians get when someone else is controlling their brand or message. Yet, they have to be willing to let go of their brand being just about them, but the brand being about the interactivity between them and the public…. I could go on for days.

    I LOVE the show!

  2. kveljones Says:

    leave it to you LD to add the all important metaphysical twist… You are entirely right… success is a journey and it is all about how we define it…

    and yet… I know hundreds and hundreds of ppl who moved to NY to “live their dream”, most often that dream includes supporting themselves with the art they feel they were born to create… and yet find themselves mired in a world of failure… I see it again and again and again… I can’t help but think what they really want is failure…..

    I think this would also apply to their fear of letting anyone else promote their work… like you said, they have to have the trust to know that their brand is in some ways out of their control and that that is a good thing!!!

  3. a while back before Telling on Trixie began, a woman at my old day job asked me, “Derek, if you could do anything, what would you do?” I replied, “Sing full-time in a rock and roll band. I have all this music and I’m not playing it out.” She said, “Well, whose life are you living?” It stuck with me. I called my old bandmate Brad and we wrote our debut album, cast the band and we’ve been on a crazy, fun ride for the past year. Thanks for being a part of it!


Leave a Reply

